Rider Cup on Sunday

THE teams representing the Highveld Hawks; Cape Eagles and KZN Falcons at the annual New Turf Carriers Inter-Provincial Rider Cup at Hollywoodbets Greyville on Sunday 21 July have been finalised.

The Highveld Hawks will be seeking their third consecutive win in the Rider Cup and their colours will be worn by a very strong team of jockeys in the 2019 renewal.

Muzi Yeni, Hawk.

Muzi Yeni, Hawk.

Lyle Hewitson, Muzi Yeni; Gavin Lerena and S’manga Khumalo comprise the Highveld Hawks and they will go head-to-head with the Cape Eagles team of Greg Cheyne; Richard Fourie; Bernard Fayd’herbe and Corne Orffer and the KZN Falcons team of Anton Marcus; Warren Kennedy; Keagan de Melo and Sean Veale.

Under the competition rules, winning rides earn 20 points for a team; second place 16 points; third place 14 points with points being allocated all the way down to one point for the last home.

The Victor Ludorum will be awarded to the individual rider who accumulates the most points over the four legs of the competition. Fields for the 2019 New Turf Carriers Rider Cup will be finalised on Tuesday 16 July.